Best Friend: Mom

Lifestyle

IMG_6820

Hello Friends!

Happy Mother’s Day! What a great day to celebrate the wonderful women in our lives who have done everything in their power to make us feel loved, safe, and cared for. I’m beyond grateful for every influential woman in my life: my mother, grandmother, friends. When I take a look at my life these women have shaped who I am today. When sitting down to think about what to post this week I thought of Disney, and how I would be leaving in a week. Then I thought HELLO WAKE UP, ITS MOTHER’S DAY! This one is for you mom!

You don’t realize this when you’re growing up, but in my case I had no idea that my mother was always right, and would end up being my best friend. You see, in high school I never wanted to listen to my mom. I didn’t think she had a clue as to what I was going through, or how I was feeling. Hello, she was a teenage girl once too. I realize this more now with my sisters. I’m the eldest and I total act like my mom giving my sisters advice I’m sure they couldn’t care less about. Here is the thing, when I graduated high school most of my friends moved away. They all went off to college, and I stayed home going to a local school for my first year. I was extremely emotional that I had no friends at home, and slowly I began to “grow up.” My mom was always there, telling me she knew I would grow out of my phases, and eventually we became inseparable.

I do everything with my mom now. I call her all the time, I’m serious all the time. I’m sure if anyone at my mom’s work reads this they will chuckle in the fact her phone goes off 20+ times a day (majority of the calls from me). She’s my best friend though, and I tell her everything: what grades I got, cute things Ethan has done, or give her updates about her grand puppy (Riley). Most of the time I need her to give me that boost: Go for it, or hey rethink that.

One of the greatest things my mom and I bond over is…. DISNEY WORLD. We are a tad bit obsessed, and plan trips all the time. We even compete to see who could get better fast passes even though we aren’t at the parks. This past year I’ve spent so many wonderful trips with my mom, and I will be forever grateful being able to spend that time with her. I love my dad more than anything, but with my mom we are on the same page when it comes to Disney. We don’t mind waking up at 5:00am to make it to the parks, or going to all of the parks in one day. Disney is our thing, and we love it. My favorite memory is from our last trip. My mom and I booked a last minute spring break trip just the two of us. We were greeted at 2am by managers and security guards knocking on our door. Come to find out the previous guest had left something that was consider dangerous, so they had to check our room immediately. It was just funny that of all trips we go on alone this happens the very first night. I mean my mom and I NEVER go back to the room, but the next day we were so tired that we had to. It’s my favorite memory just because it was our trip, and it was a funny way to kick our trip off. Other things happened this trip like our amazing dinning experiences (I think my mom and I secretly go for the food) and riding our favorite rides over and over again.

IMG_5815

I’m thankful for all the women in my life, but my mom will forever hold a special place in my heart. She is my voice of reason, encourager, Disney partner, but most of all my best friend! I love you mom, and can’t thank you enough for everything you have ever done and will ever do for me!

Signature 02

Leave a Reply

